Category Archives: D5 News

Get the latest news and information about your Surprise District 5.

Waddell and Reems roads intersection closed July 24-26

The intersection of Waddell and Reems roads will be closed from 9 p.m. Friday, July 24 to 8 p.m. Sunday, July 26, for intersection improvement activities.

Access will be maintained to all businesses and residences at the intersection.

Drivers are encouraged to utilize the detour routes along Sarival and Bullard avenues for northbound/southbound movements; and Greenway and Cactus roads for westbound/eastbound movements.

When complete later this summer, the Waddell Road Improvement Project will construct four additional travel lanes (except Reems to Sarival which requires three additional travel lanes) for a total of six travel lanes. Other improvements include provisions for drainage, sidewalks, bicycle lanes, street lighting, landscaping, and turn lanes. This voter-approved G.O. Bond project is scheduled to be complete summer 2020, weather permitting. To learn more, visit

Council Conversations – Surprise Youth Council

Councilmember Patrick Duffy and I hosted a Council Conversations show with our Surprise Youth Council. Hear from our youth about what the Surprise Youth Council is and what projects they are working on. Plus, get their perspective on what’s important to them, some of city’s greatest strengths and weaknesses, and their favorite places to visit in Surprise. Then, we answered some of their questions for us!

Council selects Sanders to fill D5 vacancy

The Surprise City Council appointed David Sanders to serve as the new District 5 (D5) Councilmember.

He was immediately sworn into office and joined the council at Tuesday night’s Regular Meeting.

Sanders has lived in Surprise for nine years. His professional background is in banking/finance and he has an MBA in International Business and Finance from the W.P. Carey School of Business at Arizona State University and a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from California State University- San Marcos.

He has served on the city’s Community and Recreation Advisory Commission since 2013 and was a member of the Capital Improvement Funding Exploratory Committee in 2015.

The D5 seat was vacated in November 2018 when Skip Hall was appointed as the new Mayor.

The term expiration for this appointment will be December 31, 2020, and the remainder of the four-year term will be placed on the next scheduled council election in August 2020 per state statute.